Posted by: wilkesincostarica | June 27, 2013

Restoring beauty in Guanacaste

Hola de Nuevo!

The past couple of days we have spent in the beach town of Playa Del Coco. It is a gorgeous beach town full of culture and some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. One of the activities that really stood out to me here was when we visited one of Kathy’s good friends.His name is Andres and he is an orthopedic surgeon. When Kathy explained to us that we would be helping him plant trees on his farm, I wasn’t too thrilled.

My attitude quickly changed as we pulled into his farm. It was a gorgeous piece of property. Animals were roaming freely, trees were green and plentiful, and a quaint little cottage sat at the top. He recently purchased the land 7 months ago, which was crazy to see all the work he has done in such little time. At that moment I couldn’t wait to get my hands dirty, and help add some more beauty to this majestic place.

Prior to this I had never planted trees before, actually I never really did much gardening. I’m embarrassed to admit that I don’t even cut the grass at home, so this was a whole new experience for me and I had no idea what to expect. All I knew was that I was excited to be planting a baby tree that would grow to be massive and would give shad to animals years from now.

As I started digging my hole, the soil was dry and tough, it was going to be a lot harder then I thought. But I was motivated by the beauty that surrounded me, so I kept going. After about ten minutes of loosening the dirt and then shoveling it out, I finally had my hole to the proper depth. I then began to plant my tree. As I pushed the dirty back around it and began to water, a sense of pride came over me. It felt good to be able to say that I planted a tree in Costa Rica that would give food, shelter, and shade to future animals. It felt good to contribute. This feeling was so good that it makes me wanted to get more involved at home. The sweat, blisters, and callouses were all worth it to know that I added a piece of beauty in Costa Rica.

Hasta luego!
Giuliana Ayers

Responses

  1. Hi Giuliana, I really enjoy this day with all your friends, thanks again for your help.

  2. I blog often and I really thank you for your information. Your article has truly peaked my interest.
    I am going to take a note of your site and keep checking for
    new information about once a week. I opted in for
    your RSS feed as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

