Seeya later, alligator

What can I say that has not already been said about this trip?  Costa Rica was easily one of the greatest experiences of my life, and something I won’t soon forget.  I made friends, experienced a new culture, and had fun all while learning.  Every day was a brand new adventure that we all woke up early for and tackled head on.

We got a taste of all forms of life during our time in Costa Rica; from the city to the rural surf towns.  A couple things were constant in all the locations; never a hot shower, limited wifi, and hammocks.  The limited wifi was great when I look back on it, because like everyone has said it made us enjoy Costa Rica more.  Our focus down there was never on our phones, it was on the beauty of the land and our amazing group.  Honestly, it could not have been a better group that went on this trip.  We were all ready for each day and anything Kathy or Dr. Miller had planned for us.  Throughout the whole trip we all became close and now that it is over we shall continue the friendships we started in this class.  I will admit it has been quite strange not seeing the gang every day.

Out of Liberia, Coco, and Ostional my favorite location like most has to be Coco.  It has a little bit of everything and is not only a place that I would visit again, but maybe even a place to live.  The town has everything you may need within walking distance, and even more within a quick drive of it.  Yet it was not just all the relaxing that made Coco great, it was the adventures and interesting presentations we had there.  Within the span of about five days I zip-lined, snorkeled, learned basic scuba, planted trees, and enjoyed a hot spring for the first time in my life.  Then on top of that we got to hear about marine projects from three different speakers in Ocotal.  It was great to see their passion when presenting their projects to us.

Ostional was definitely an experience that we cannot properly convey to those that ask about our trips.  You need to see and live in Ostional to truly appreciate its simplicity and laid back personality.

Every day down there is a memory we will remember and a story to tell for years to come.  I cannot believe how quickly it all went by, and that is something that saddens me a bit.  We definitely made every day count down there.  There was never sleeping in and when an idea or plan was pitched we were all ready for it.  Sure there were something’s we did down there were not all too enjoyable at the time, but they are stories now that we can all laugh about.

Lastly I just want to thank everybody here for making every day down there something I will cherish.  Dr. Miller for making this whole trip possible and introducing me to Troll 2.  Kathy for setting up everything for us down there, sometimes on the fly as well as getting us discounts.  Her passion for the environment and life was awe inspiring and made for some interesting conversations with the group.  Kathy’s friend Marialaura for allowing me to check out the Four Seasons and experience what working at a resort is like.  And of course everyone from the class; thank you guys for all the memories I will have.  Good or bad we all stuck together and made the best of our situation.

Mike

PS: Does anyone know what a mangrove is?

Leave a comment